Learner License

For the parents of teen drivers in Florida, HERE  is the link to our digital guidebook. The PARENT'S Supervised Driving Program!
New: Step-by-Step Guide!
You must meet the following requirements to be eligible to apply for a Learner License:
Exceptions to Parental Consent:
  1. You must be at least 15 years old.
  2. Your parent, guardian, or another responsible adult must be present with their identification to give parental consent.
    • This person must be willing to assume the obligation imposed by S. 322.09 F.S. and they must verbally certify that they assume joint responsibility with you for damages caused by negligence or willful misconduct.
    • If such a person cannot be present for whatever reason, they must complete Form HSMV 71142 and this form must be turned in with your application for a Learner License.
    • If married or legally emancipated, you do not need parental consent to apply for a Learner License. You must submit an original/certified copy of your marriage certificate or "Emancipation of Minor Child" court order.
    • If you are 18 years old or older, you do not need parental consent to apply for a Learner License.
  3. You must present documents that establish your identity pursuant to the Real ID Act:
    • i.e. Birth certificate, proof of name change(s), U.S. Passport, Valid I-551/I-151 Permanent Resident Card, USCIS (INS) docs, Social Security Card, and two proofs of residential address.
    • Non-US Citizens must have at least 61 days remaining on their legal presence documentation.
    • Visit www.gathergoget.com for complete details.
  4. You must take and pass the following exams:
    • Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course (TLSAE).
      • This class is offered by many 3rd party providers. Refer to your local phone book or to the Florida DHSMV for a listing.
      • Our office will verify completion online. Please check the Florida DHSMV verification website before visiting our office to ensure your TLSAE completion is available. If it is not, you must contact the 3rd party provider and ask that they upload your results.
    • Vision and Hearing exam - These exams are administered by a driver license examiner in our office.
    • A written examination consisting of 50 questions, covering the following areas:
      • Road Rules - 45 multiple choice questions about traffic laws.
      • Road Signs - 5 multiple choice questions about road signs.
      • You cannot miss more than 10 questions to pass the written examination.
      • Customers taking the written examinations in the office are limited to two attempts per day on each type of written exam.
      • Learner License Written Testing Cut-Off time is 3:30 p.m.
      • Applicants under age 18 may take the written exam online. If using an online 3rd party testing system, a Parent/Guardian Online Test Proctoring Form must be signed in the presence of a driver license examiner by the person who proctored the test; or the proctor's signature must be notarized if the parent or guardian proctor will not be present.
        • Customers are limited to a total of three knowledge attempts online.
        • Falsification of parental proctoring will result in license suspensions for the parent/guardian and applicant.
        • Note: The 3rd party testing system for online testing will select every 40th Class E knowledge exam completed online for random retesting.
  5. You must pay $54.25 to obtain your Learner License plus any exam retake fees.
    • A $10.00 retesting fee is collected each time a customer retakes a written examination at a driver license or Tax Collector's office.
Learner Testing

Learner License Written Testing: 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. in our Altamonte Springs, Casselberry, Lake Mary, or Winter Springs office locations only. 
For an Interpreter written exam, you must call 407-665-1000 to make an appointment.

Studying for the Test

We recommend you study the handbook prior to taking any exams.

Florida DMV Booklet






Upgrade to a Class E Driver License

Learner Driving Restrictions
  • You must be accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years of age or older at all times.
  • You may operate a vehicle only during daylight hours during the first three (3) months of issue.
  • After three months, you may operate a vehicle until 10:00 p.m.
  • You are not allowed to operate motorcycles, mopeds, or go-peds.
  • To upgrade to an intermediate license, you need at least 50 hours of driving time, 10 hours which are night driving.
  • Note: If 18 years of age or older, you have the option of completing the Learner License requirements and upgrading to a Class E License without first being issued a Learner License. If you opt to do so, it must be completed in two steps. You would first be required to pass all written tests after which you may to schedule an appointment to take the road test (at our Casselberry location only).