Change of Address Forms
In order to maintain accurate records, and to help ensure that each registered owner receives a tag renewal notice, all changes of address must be reported to the Tax Collector's office within 30 days.
In compliance with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles a change of address request must be submitted in writing by US mail, to the appropriate mailing address, or in person at any of our Tax Collector office locations.
- Registration Address Change Form
- An updated registration will be provided at a charge of $3.00.
A duplicate title may be obtained by completing a HSMV 82101 Application for Duplicate or Lost in Transit/Reassignment for Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel Title Certificate. It must be signed and submitted to the Tax Collector with the following:
NOTE: A copy of the applicant's driver license must be attached.
- $78.25 to have the title printed and mailed
- $85.75 if you wish to have this processed as a fast title
If an outstanding lien exists, the lien holder must sign the application or attach a signed original lien satisfaction. A lost in transit title may be applied for within 180 days of issuance, free of charge.
If you have not received your new certificate of title in six weeks, please visit one of our offices or download an HSMV 82101 Application for Duplicate or Lost in Transit/Reassignment for Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home or Vessel Title Certificate.
Fast Title Service
The fast title service is available for an additional fee of $10.00. Visit any one of our locations for an original title, title transfer, or duplicate title while you wait.
If all documentation is correct, a certificate of title is produced in the office and is available upon conclusion of the transaction.
Miscellaneous Title Applications and Transfers
Contact the Tax Collector’s office for information on miscellaneous title applications and transfers such as a death of owner, court orders, change of name, repossessions, rebuilt vehicles, and bankruptcy.
A Power of Attorney form may be required.
All new vehicles must have an MCO (manufacturer's certificate of origin) or MSO (manufacturer's statement of origin) which must be signed by a licensed dealer for transfer to buyer. The MCO or MSO is attached to the HSMV 82040 MV Application for Certificate of Motor Vehicle Title, which must be properly completed with the owner’s complete name and Florida address, date of birth, sex, Driver license number, complete description of vehicle, and any lien to be recorded. The odometer section of the MCO/MSO must be completed or an odometer statement attached.
- Checklist for New Vehicle Registration/New Residents
- Florida Residents on Military Assignment Outside of Florida
A $225.00 initial registration fee is imposed the first time a license plate is purchased for a vehicle. This applies to private automobiles, motor homes, and pickups at or below 5,000 pounds.
Verification of Vehicle Identification Numbers
All used motor vehicles not currently titled in Florida** must have the vehicle identification number (VIN) verified on HSMV 82042 VIN and Odometer Verification by :
- a Florida motor vehicle dealer
- a law enforcement officer
- Florida notary public
- This service is also provided at any one of our Seminole County Tax Collector locations, or any Florida Tax Collector office or DMV location
** Effective 4/10/2000, all used vehicles coming into Florida from a foreign country must have the vehicle identification number verified by a DMV Compliance Examiner/Inspector prior to being titled, including dealer transactions. This DOES NOT include vehicles from American Samoa, Virgin Islands, Guam, or Puerto Rico. If a motor vehicle or mobile home was purchased in a foreign country, 6% Florida sales or use tax and local discretionary sales surtax is required to be paid before a certificate of title and registration can be issued by the department. The amount upon which the tax is applied is the larger of:
- 80% of the loan value
- The fair market value on date of entry
- The outstanding lien on the motor vehicle at the time of entry into this state.
No credit is allowed for any sales or use tax paid to a foreign country.
Proof of Insurance
A current Florida Automobile Insurance Card is required to purchase a license plate in Florida. Personal injury protection (PIP) and (PDL) insurance in the amount of at least $10,000 each is required. Commercial trucks require additional insurance. Contact the Tax Collector’s office for information.
Sales Tax Information
- As required by Chapter 212 of the Florida Statutes, sales tax in Florida is 6% plus any local discretionary sales surtax on the balance of the purchase price, less trade in, if any.
- Some transactions such as gifts, trade down, or even trade, court order in divorce proceedings, inheritance, transfer to/from spouse, change of name only, etc., may be exempt from sales tax.
- If the motor vehicle or mobile home was purchased and used less than 6 months in another state, territory of the United States, or the District of Columbia, the full amount of the 6% sales or use tax, plus any local discretionary sales surtax is required to be paid before title and registration can be issued by the department. However, a credit may be allowed for a like tax paid in another state, territory of the United States or the District of Columbia, against the amount of Florida sales or use tax and local discretionary sales surtax.
- The registrant's County of residence determines whether an additional local discretionary sales surtax is collected. For additional information view the Department of Revenue’s Discretionary Sales Surtax Information.
Surrendering tag/plate when moving out of state
When you move, you must surrender your license plate and registration to one of the following:
- Any Florida Tax Collector.
- Any Florida Driver License office.
- Mail the license and registration to:
Bureau of Financial Responsibility
Neil Kirkman Building
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0585